920-868-1457   Email   |   Fooster Prompts
Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events › Readers

Events List Navigation

April 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

April 6 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is Water Music: The Great Lakes State Poetry Anthology.

Find out more »
$95

Revise Like an Insider: Beyond “Show, Don’t Tell”

April 8 @ 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Write On, Door County,
4177 Juddville Rd
Fish Creek, WI 54212 United States
+ Google Map

Join publisher Hanna Kjeldbjerg and learn insider tips on how to take your writing beyond "show, don't tell" by creating characterization rather than character description, painting atmospheric settings, avoid "telling" in dialogue, and more. To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868-1457. This class includes lunch, please notify Jaime at jaime@writeondoorcounty.org of any dietary restrictions.

Find out more »
May 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

May 4 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan. In a work of narrative reporting in the vein of Rachel Carson and Elizabeth Kolbert, prize-winning reporter Dan Egan delivers an eye-opening portrait of our nation’s greatest natural resource as it faces ecological calamity. He tells the story of the St. Lawrence…

Find out more »
June 2017
$40

What’s Got Your Goat with Kaija Johnson

June 12 @ 10:00 am - 1:00 pm

We'll meet at Door County Creamery and take a bus to their goat farm. We'll tour the farm, taste their cheese, have lunch on the patio, complete with gelato. Then we'll write about our favorite goat, the best cheese, or how our gelato tasted. A great family event! All ages are welcome. To register online click here, for other options call, (920) 868 - 1457. Date: Monday, June 12, 10am - 1pm Cost: $40 per person; call (920) 868 -…

Find out more »
$40

The Art of Graceful Communication with Leslie Leline

June 17 @ 10:00 am - 1:00 pm

Learn techniques for positive, effective comminication with Leslie Leline and her horses Shadow and Flicka. They will demonstrate how to notice, acknowledge and respect feelings, and still make your point without conflict. Participants will interact with the horses and then write a reflection based on their experience. All ages are welcome and family groups are encouraged. To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868 - 1457. Date: Saturday, June 17, 10am - 1pm Cost: $40 per person;…

Find out more »
July 2017
$20

Traveling Trolley Tales: A Visit to the Sign Fairy with Jill Petra Harding & Dee Paulsen

July 8 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Door County Trolley,
8030 Highway 42
Egg Harbor, WI 54209
+ Google Map

The Sign Fairy has been spreading good thoughts! Take a ride on the Door County Trolley to visit the Sign Fairy, a woman whose challenges in her own life inspired her to put up a sign that would spread good energy to those near and far. We'll visit her studio and hear her story and create our own sign fairy signs. Get ready for a magical amount of fun! Recommended for children in 3rd through 5th grades. Bring a lunch;…

Find out more »
$100

Girls Camp Out, Write On – Level One with Vinni Chomeau & Ann Heyse

July 31 - August 2

What could be better that three days and two nights on the land and in the waters of Door County? We'll hike, we'll swim, we'll tell campfire stories and sleep in tents and cook over a camp stove. Throughout it all, we'll read a little and write a lot. To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868 - 1457. Dates: Monday, July 31 - Wednesday, August 2 Cost: $100, includes all meals and supplies Located at Peninsula…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events