920-868-1457   Email   |   Fooster Prompts
Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events › Readers

Events List Navigation

February 2017

REBEL AND ROMAN: An Afternoon with Author Austin Claflin

February 25 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Miller Art Museum,
107 S. 4th Ave.
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

Austin Claflin is a senior at Southern Door High School and an avid researcher of the ancient world.  He published his first historical fiction novel, Rebel and Roman, in October 2016.  Austin hopes to continue writing books while he pursues a career in the ministry of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod. Austin will read an excerpt from his novel and talk about his research process as well as answer audience questions. Light refreshments will be served. About Rebel and Roman…

Find out more »
March 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

March 2 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is Ship Captain's Daughter: Growing Up On the Great Lakes by Ann Michler Lewis. Ann Lewis's childhood was marked by an unusual rhythm. Each year the thawing and freezing of the Great Lakes signaled the beginning and end of the shipping season, months of waiting that were punctuated by brief trips to various ports…

Find out more »

A Sand County Almanac Progressive Marathon Reading

March 4 @ 12:30 pm - March 5 @ 4:00 pm

Write On, The Clearing Folk School, Crossroads at Big Creek, Door County Land Trust, and The Ridges Sanctuary join together to celebrate Aldo Leopold weekend with a progressive marathon reading of his classic essay collection A Sand County Almanac. Join us at various locations throughout the county as some of Door County's notable personalities read from Leopold's work.   Essays will be read in chronological order. Most readings will last about an hour, with time for conversation and discussion with readers…

Find out more »

TRANSFER: The Poetry of Naomi Shihab Nye

March 8 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Northern Door YMCA,
3866 Gibraltar Rd.
Fish Creek, WI 54212
+ Google Map

In advance of Naomi Shihab Nye's March 23rd visit to Door County, Write On is sponsoring poetry discussion groups to talk about her poetry, as well as her prose. While her collection Transfer will be the focus of many of the discussions, participants are encouraged to attend if they have read other works or if they are not yet familiar with the writing of one of America's most admired poets. Known for poetry that lends a fresh perspective to ordinary events, people,…

Find out more »

TRANSFER: The Poetry of Naomi Shihab Nye

March 11 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Baileys Harbor Library,
2392 County Road F
Baileys Harbor, 54202
+ Google Map

In advance of Naomi Shihab Nye's March 23rd visit to Door County, Write On is sponsoring poetry discussion groups to talk about her poetry, as well as her prose. While her collection Transfer will be the focus of many of the discussions, participants are encouraged to attend if they have read other works or if they are not yet familiar with the writing of one of America's most admired poets. Known for poetry that lends a fresh perspective to ordinary events, people,…

Find out more »

NAOMI SHIHAB NYE READING

March 23 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Door Community Auditorium,
3926 Highway 42
Fish Creek, WI
+ Google Map

Write On, Door County is proud to present critically-acclaimed and internationally renowned poet Naomi Shihab Nye in a special appearance. Known for poetry that lends a fresh perspective to ordinary events, people, and objects, Nye has said that, for her, “the primary source of poetry has always been local life, random characters met on the streets, our own ancestry sifting down to us through small essential daily tasks.” photo by Chehalis Hegner Naomi Shihab Nye grew up…

Find out more »
April 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

April 6 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is Water Music: The Great Lakes State Poetry Anthology.

Find out more »
May 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

May 4 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan. In a work of narrative reporting in the vein of Rachel Carson and Elizabeth Kolbert, prize-winning reporter Dan Egan delivers an eye-opening portrait of our nation’s greatest natural resource as it faces ecological calamity. He tells the story of the St. Lawrence…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events