920-868-1457   Email   |   Fooster Prompts
Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events › Adults

Events List Navigation

April 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

April 6 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is Water Music: The Great Lakes State Poetry Anthology.

Find out more »
$95

Revise Like an Insider: Beyond “Show, Don’t Tell”

April 8 @ 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Write On, Door County,
4177 Juddville Rd
Fish Creek, WI 54212 United States
+ Google Map

Join publisher Hanna Kjeldbjerg and learn insider tips on how to take your writing beyond "show, don't tell" by creating characterization rather than character description, painting atmospheric settings, avoid "telling" in dialogue, and more. To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868-1457. This class includes lunch, please notify Jaime at jaime@writeondoorcounty.org of any dietary restrictions.

Find out more »

Write About Your School Days for Gibraltar Alumni & Students

April 15 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Weekly on the same day until Saturday, April 29, 2017
Scandia Village, The Meadows,
10560 Applewood Rd.
Sister Bay, 54234
+ Google Map

We're looking for Gibraltar alumni who want to share a school story or two about when they went to Gibraltar. Current students and alumni will work together on their school memories in this facilitated sessions. Learn tips and techniques to help you write your story! Stories will be used for various projects celebrating the 100th anniversary of Gibraltar School. Instructors: Vinni Chomeau & Ann Heyse Dates: Saturday, April 15 & Saturday, April 29, 10am - noon Participants may attend either…

Find out more »
$45

This Is Not A Newspaper Blackout Poem

April 22 @ 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Write On, Door County,
4177 Juddville Rd
Fish Creek, WI 54212 United States
+ Google Map

Writing from the intersection of the news page and the blank page, we can process the world. As writers and observers in the world, engaging in what we read in the news can feel overwhelming. We'll use the printed news to construct new ideas and make meaning of our emotional, spiritual, and intellectual lives on paper. To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868-1457. Tami Mohamed Brown won a 2011-2012 Loft Mentor Series Award in creative nonfiction…

Find out more »

Write About Your School Days for Gibraltar Alumni & Students

April 29 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Weekly on the same day until Saturday, April 29, 2017
Scandia Village, The Meadows,
10560 Applewood Rd.
Sister Bay, 54234
+ Google Map

We're looking for Gibraltar alumni who want to share a school story or two about when they went to Gibraltar. Current students and alumni will work together on their school memories in this facilitated sessions. Learn tips and techniques to help you write your story! Stories will be used for various projects celebrating the 100th anniversary of Gibraltar School. Instructors: Vinni Chomeau & Ann Heyse Dates: Saturday, April 15 & Saturday, April 29, 10am - noon Participants may attend either…

Find out more »
May 2017

Great Lakes/Great Books Club

May 4 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Door County Maritime Museum,
120 N Madison Ave
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+ Google Map

A monthly book club discussing works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that have the Great Lakes as their setting or subject matter. The selection for this month is The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan. In a work of narrative reporting in the vein of Rachel Carson and Elizabeth Kolbert, prize-winning reporter Dan Egan delivers an eye-opening portrait of our nation’s greatest natural resource as it faces ecological calamity. He tells the story of the St. Lawrence…

Find out more »
June 2017
$45

Creating Fictional Worlds

June 6 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Once on %1$s

Good science fiction and fantasy writers have the challenge of creating unique worlds to serve as the stage for their characters and story. How to know what readers want or need to know in these genres can be tricky. Through exploring the techniques of published sci-fi, speculative fiction and fantasy writers, you'll begin to develop your own strategy for creating and writing about the world where your stories take place. To register online click here, for other options call (920)…

Find out more »
$45

Creating Fictional Worlds

June 8 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Once on %1$s

Good science fiction and fantasy writers have the challenge of creating unique worlds to serve as the stage for their characters and story. How to know what readers want or need to know in these genres can be tricky. Through exploring the techniques of published sci-fi, speculative fiction and fantasy writers, you'll begin to develop your own strategy for creating and writing about the world where your stories take place. To register online click here, for other options call (920)…

Find out more »
$135

What A Character!

June 19 @ 9:00 am - June 23 @ 12:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Once on %1$s,
and Once on %1$s

Do you know any characters? Many of us grew up with 'characters' in our neighborhoods or, sometimes, in our own families. This class is an opportunity to write and tell stories about - recall and relive - the lives of people in our past and present who are really "different, unique, and special." To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868-1457. Instructor: Michael Brecke Dates: Monday, June 19, Wednesday, June 21, and Friday June 23, 9am -…

Find out more »
$135

What A Character!

June 21 @ 9:00 am - June 25 @ 12:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)
Once on %1$s,
and Once on %1$s

Do you know any characters? Many of us grew up with 'characters' in our neighborhoods or, sometimes, in our own families. This class is an opportunity to write and tell stories about - recall and relive - the lives of people in our past and present who are really "different, unique, and special." To register online click here, for other options call (920) 868-1457. Instructor: Michael Brecke Dates: Monday, June 19, Wednesday, June 21, and Friday June 23, 9am -…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events